Follow us on

If you are a WordPress website owner and have recently started to work with the platform, you probably now love how seamless and easy this CMS (Content Management System) is. The platform is indeed a boon for non-technical users who are looking to benefit from the myriad user-friendly features provided by this CMS. However, there are certain issues that even the best of us get stuck with such as tasks like plugin & theme testing, debugging & coding, website reset and restoration. So, if you have yourself in a fix there and are looking for an easy way to reset your WordPress website and get started with a fresh installation, you must install the WP Reset plugin.

Here’s everything about the WP Reset plugin and how you can reset your WordPress website using the WP Reset plugin.

What can WP Reset do for you?

The WP Reset plugin can be a catalyst for the process of debugging, testing and developing the features of your website. It is a great plugin made by the developers for non-developers to help them with their websites. By using this plugin, website owners can reset their WordPress website to its default state. With just a single click, they can easily speed up plugin & theme testing, debugging & coding by controlling, resetting & restoring the WordPress environment. With just a single click, users can reset their website.

Here’s what all WP Reset plugin can do for you:

  • If you want, the plugin will help you delete all posts and pages you have created. You can also delete database tables, from default ones to the custom ones that have been used by default tables.
  • The plugin helps with deleting all of the customizations you might have made and erasing all of the content on the site.
  • You can delete your media entries, comments and custom post type
  • If you have too many website users added to your site, you can get rid of them all. However, the currently logged in user will be able to log back in using their username and Password.
  • You can also selectively delete the website content
  • This reset deletes all customizations and content but does not modify any files.

Here’s a clear description of what the plugin will delete and not delete:

RESETTING WILL DELETE:

  • all posts, pages, custom post types, comments, media entries, users
  • all default WP database tables
  • all custom database tables that have the same prefix table prefix as
  • the one defined in wp-config.php and used by default tables

RESETTING WILL NOT DELETE OR MODIFY:

  • media files – they remain in the wp-uploads folder untouched but will no longer be listed under Media in admin
  • no files are touched; plugins, themes, uploads – everything stays
  • site title, WordPress address, site address, site language and search engine visibility settings
  • currently logged in user will be restored with the current username and password

Setting up and Installing WP Reset to reset your Website

The process of setting up the WP Reset plugin on your WordPress installation is as easy as resetting the website in a single click. Here’s the process:

  1. You can visit this link to download the plugin.
  2. You can also login to your WordPress site’s dashboard by entering the login credentials i.e. the username and password.
  3. Now, you will be required to navigate to the site’s dashboard and go to Plugins > ‘Add New’
  4. Now, enter the ‘WP Reset’ into the search field and click on ‘Enter’
  5. As the plugin shows up, click on “Install Now”

If you are up for manually uploading the plugin, here’s the process to follow:

  1. Look for a stable version of the plugin from downloads.wordpress.org/plugin/wp-reset.latest-stable.zip
  2. Once you click on the link, a zip folder will be downloaded. Just unzip it and extract/upload the content to the /wp-content/plugins/ folder
  3. Now, enter your WordPress admin dashboard and visit the ‘Plugins’ section’
  4. Click on ‘WP Reset’ and then click ‘Activate’

How to kickstart the Reset?

plugin setup

Now, it’s time to talk about getting the actual ‘Reset’ started. You will have to enter your WordPress site’s dashboard and go to the ‘Tools’ menu. However, before you actually click on the Reset button, make sure that you backup all your site data. This will make sure that you have a backup if anything goes wrong. This might not be a case with WP Reset plugin because it will never lead to accidental loss of data with its multiple fail-safe mechanisms.

So, when you choose to click on the ‘Reset; button, the plugin will ask you to confirm your decision. You will have to confirm the action one more time because there is NO UNDO.

As mentioned above, you can selectively delete the website content.

delete

Once the Reset plugin has been clicked upon, you will have this window pop up to take care of your Post-Reset actions.

post reset

All your favorite themes and plugins will be saved and not lost. If you think you will be using the WP Reset plugin in the future, you can keep it and reactivate when needed.

The WP Reset plugin is a fast and secure plugin that helps you reset your WordPress installation in a single-click. It is 100% WP-CLI compatible and has an active in-house support team to help you troubleshoot any issues. So, you must definitely check out this plugin.

Catherine Garcia

Author

Catherrine Garcia is a passionate blogger and a Web Developer, currently working at WPCodingDev. She along with her group of developers, are experts of creating Websites on CMS. Follow her on Twitter @catherrinegarci

WOW

GO
Q